Ion Channel Research Group

Department of Clinical Research, University of Bern

You can follow us on Twitter

Sections

Research Focus

The main focus of the Abriel laboratory is to investigate mechanisms underlying human diseases caused by dysfunction of ion channels, so-called channelopathies. In particular, one of the main objectives is to elucidate novel molecular and cellular mechanisms of cardiac arrhythmias causing sudden death. To this end, on the one hand, our group investigates ion channel mutations found in patients and families presenting with genetic forms of lethal arrhythmias such as the congenital long QT syndrome, Brugada syndrome, and cardiac conduction disturbances. On the other hand, we are studying new types of regulation of cardiac ion channels relevant to arrhythmogenic mechanisms.

Fig. 1 Schematic presentation of the cardiac action potential and the three main ion channels that we are currently studying in the laboratory. The channel Nav1.5 mediates the rapid depolarization of the membrane, whereas the hERG and KCNQ1 channels are involved in the repolarization of the cardiac cell.

Keywords:

Group members

 

Hugues Abriel

Group leader

E-Mail hugues.abriel@dkf.unibe.ch
Phone +41 31 632 09 28

Maria Essers

Lab Manager and technician

E-Mail maria.essers@dkf.unibe.ch
Phone +41 31 632 86 89

Sabine Nafzger

Lab technician

E-Mail sabine.nafzger@dkf.unibe.ch
Phone +41 31 632 86 89

Jean-Sébastien Rougier

Senior teaching and research assistant

E-Mail jean-sebastien.rougier@dkf.unibe.ch
Phone +41 31 632 86 99

Ludovic Gillet

Postdoctoral fellow

E-Mail ludovic.gillet@dkf.unibe.ch
Phone +41 31 632 86 99

Diana Shy

PhD student

E-Mail diana.shy@dkf.unibe.ch
Phone +41 31 632 86 88

Valentin Sottas

PhD student

E-Mail valentin.sottas@dkf.unibe.ch
Phone +41 31 632 86 88

Morgan Chevalier

PhD student

E-Mail morgan.chevalier@dkf.unibe.ch
Phone +41 31 632 86 88

Beatrice Bianchi

PhD student

E-Mail beatrice.bianchi@dkf.unibe.ch
Phone +41 31 632 86 88

Selected Publications

Original Articles

Review Articles